I just received a fun package today – the French alphabet cards I purchased from Etsy are here! They are exactly what I’ve been looking for – they have a vintage feel, with muted colors and delicate illustrations. Here are some pics, sorry for the ugh quality:

French alphabet cards from Bibitty on Etsy

I got them from a seller called Bibitty, I learned about her shop from a post by Erika at Urban Grace.

Now I have to figure out how to hang them in my daughter’s nursery. And God love the Internet – I googled “hanging alphabet cards nursery” and stumbled onto this post by Pewter and Sage about this very topic!! She even had photos of other inspiration rooms. Here are a few, including a couple I found:

from Tiny Decor via One Crafty Place

from Land of Nod via Row House

Ida Pearle alphabet cards - image from Thrift Candy

After coming to terms with the unoriginality of my idea (not that I really thought it was original in the first place) I loved looking at the different ways people chose to hang their cards.

My current quandary is that I want the hanging to have a feeling of permanence, or weight or something (not sure of the right word here). I am thinking that if I hang them directly on the wall they may feel too “light” or unanchored. The proportions won’t seem right with them flat up against the wall. Does that make any sense? As you can see from my “design vocabulary” I am a complete non-designer.

I think hanging them from a ribbon or twine with some vintage-y clips might have a bit of the look I AM going for. Like this:

image from Canadian House and Home

A closer look at the clips.

My daughter is 2, so I keep calling it her “nursery” but really it is a toddler’s bedroom now. She is still in a crib and I am wondering if I can hang these high enough out of reach that she won’t have a blast every night pulling them down! (Not to mention the choking hazard, of course!! Yikes.)

I really would like to frame each one, but that seems like it could get expensive and then hanging 26 frames and making sure they’re level can be a nightmare. (I say this from experience.) Framing them all together in some way on one large frame might be what I end up doing because at this point it seems easiest. But I would need a BIG frame.

Hmmm. Any suggestions? I would love some! I’ll get back to you on what I decide.